Don’t Blink

Don’t blink. Life goes faster than you think.

And institute has done just the same. I remember my first day of teaching this summer and how nervous I was. I remember my second day of teaching and second 5:00AM wake up call and dreading getting out of bed. I remember my second week of teaching and thinking that Friday would never come. But where did the past three weeks go?

I’ve had the amazing opportunity to work with a few amazing students this summer in their English Language Arts class. Not, only have I seen relationships grow between my students and myself but I’ve seen their understanding of literature grow as well. We started off the summer session reading Holes and learning some basic literary terms like setting and characterization.

13507020_2943892687706_7573257602858428250_n

from Skyline’s Opportunity Fair we hosted for our students!

However, this past week we moved on to working with short stories including Kate Chopin’s The Story of an Hour and O. Henry’s Hearts and Hands. I’ll admit that maybe I didn’t choose the best texts for my students, these stories were a tad above reading level. BUT, we worked through them as a class to understand the plots and the meanings of the stories.

Last week, we hosted an Opportunity Fair for our students and each of us created a poster board about where we attended college or another opportunity we were involved in post secondary school. Since financial aid was such a vital part of my own college education I worked with a girl named Kate who will be teaching in New Mexico to run a table about college applications and financial aid. Even though most of our students are in middle school and have a few years before they can apply for college, it’s never to early to plant the seed that they can succeed! There students have inspired me so much and have shown me that I’ve chosen the right next step for my own life. It’s crazy how much someone can change in as little as a month.

I didn’t grow up wanting to become a teacher, but this summer has really taught me so much about how important teachers are to kid’s lives. I know that I’ve had certain teachers really impact my own life but it’s crazy to hear how you’ve made a difference in someone else’s life.

While I am very sad to be leaving Skyline and Phoenix – I certainly won’t miss the 120 degree weather – I’m excited to return home and then officially move to Oglala, SD at the end of July!

Saying institute has been a roller coaster is like the understatement of the year, but I wouldn’t trade this experience for the world. I’ve learned so much, had so many amazing experiences, and made so many incredible friends.

If you were at all worried, know that I will be spending the next two years with the most amazing people in the world and have lots of support out there in SoDak.

Keep an eye out for tales from my 4th of July weekend that will be spent at Lake Havasu and also stories from my trip home with Alisha! Enjoy your holiday weekend 🙂

13394169_10202049685519971_1271169557603175426_n13319769_10210079299205883_598012379440270272_n

Leave a Reply

